Press Release: 2020-09-16

Greater Boston Chamber and City Awake Announce 2020 Ten Outstanding Young Leaders

Greater Boston Chamber and City Awake Announce 2020 Ten Outstanding Young Leaders

Boston, MA-The Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce (GBCC) and City Awake are pleased to announce the 2020 Ten Outstanding Young Leaders (TOYL) honorees. The TOYL Awards are presented annually by City Awake, a program of the GBCC that connects, engages, and celebrates next-generation leaders. The awards recognize the contributions of current and emerging young, greater Boston leaders who have demonstrated professional, personal, and civic commitment to improving the quality of life within our region. This year, the awards will celebrate leaders who break barriers and increase equity within our business community. 

The 2020 honorees will be recognized throughout our virtual Fierce Urgency of Now festival. The festival (September 16 – 20, 2020), empowers, amplifies, and connects young professionals of color to each other and to the business community in efforts to build a stronger and more inclusive Boston. 

This year’s honorees include:

  • Arianne Waldron, Attorney, United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit; Co-Owner, District 7 Tavern 
  • Ato Pinkrah, Project Engineer, Gilbane Building Company 
  • Ellice Patterson, Founder/Executive & Artistic Director, Abilities Dance; Executive Director, BalletRox
  • Jacqueline Adams Carey, Recruiter, McKinsey & Company 
  • Maria Servellón, Faculty Member, Emerson College & Northeastern University; Multimedia Artist & Filmmaker 
  • Monica Cannon-Grant, CEO & Co-Founder, Violence in Boston, Inc. 
  • Natalia Urtubey, Director of Small Business, Office of Economic Development, City of Boston 
  • Omari Jahi Aarons, Director, Employee Enablement, Liberty Mutual Insurance; Inagural President, National African American Insurance Association of Boston 
  • Tony Shu, Co-Founder, Breaktime 
  • Victoria Hay, M.P.A, Head of Corporate Social Responsibility, AIG Life & Retirement

 Find out more about our honorees here

 “Our 2020 Ten Outstanding Young Leaders are leading our business community forward, and we’re excited to celebrate their innovative and groundbreaking accomplishments,” said Chamber President and CEO, James E. Rooney. “When I think of the future of the Greater Boston business community, and the transformative leadership of our honorees, I know that we’ll become a more welcoming and inclusive city for everyone.”

In 2012, the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce revived the Ten Outstanding Young Leaders (TOYL) awards to continue the tradition of honoring Greater Boston’s current and future leaders. The TOYL awards were presented by the Boston Jaycees from 1952 to 2006 to identify and celebrate young leaders. Since its inception, more than 500 young leaders have been honored including President John F. Kennedy; Co-Founder of Wayfair, Niraj Shah; Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley; and community advocate and United Nations representative, Carol Fulp. View all past honorees here.