Press Release: 2019-06-11

Baker-Polito Administration Honors 57 Schools

Baker-Polito Administration Honors 57 Schools
Schools recognized for high achievement, strong progress or narrowing gaps

MALDEN — The Baker-Polito Administration today held a ceremony at the State House to recognize 57 schools for high achievement, narrowing achievement gaps between groups of students or making strong progress. The schools were recognized as 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools, state-designated Schools of Recognition, or 2018 National Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished Schools.
“The remarkable teachers and students in these schools should be proud of what they have accomplished,” said Governor Charlie Baker. “Improvement, high achievement, and – especially – narrowing gaps are all critical to students’ success and to our Commonwealth’s future.”
“The schools honored today show that excellence is happening in cities as large as Boston and towns as small as Williamsburg,” said Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito. “It’s a pleasure to see such a variety of schools represented and to recognize them for their success.”
“These 57 schools continually look for better ways to support their students,” Education Secretary James Peyser said. “That dedication will pay dividends both for their students as individuals and for our Commonwealth as a whole.” 
“After a year of visiting schools across the Commonwealth, I am not surprised to see so many strong schools honored today from different areas of the state,” Elementary and Secondary Education Commissioner Jeffrey C. Riley said. “I appreciate the work that went into these achievements, and I am grateful to everyone in the school communities who were part of those efforts.”
The schools are being recognized in one of the following categories:
2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools (three schools): Each year, the U.S. Department of Education asks the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to nominate a small number of schools for consideration as National Blue Ribbon Schools. The program recognizes schools whose students achieve at very high levels or schools that make significant progress in closing the achievement gap. More information is available at The school names were released in early October.
Schools of Recognition (52 schools): Under Massachusetts’ accountability system, the commissioner commended 52 schools of recognition for high achievement, high growth, or significantly exceeding their targets. The schools were initially announced in September.
National ESEA Distinguished Schools (two schools): Each year, the ESEA Network (formerly the National Title I Association) asks states to nominate two schools where students perform at very high levels for at least two consecutive years, where the school has made significant progress in closing achievement gaps or where the school has demonstrated excellence in serving special populations of students. More information regarding the ESEA Distinguished School program is available at  
The recipients are as follows:
2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools:
  • Abington High School (Abington Public Schools)
  • Swampscott High School (Swampscott High School)
  • Minuteman Regional Vocational Technical School (in Lexington)
2018 National ESEA Distinguished Schools:
  • Alice B. Beal Elementary School (Springfield Public Schools)
  • Bristol-Plymouth Regional Technical School (in Taunton)
2018 Massachusetts Schools of Recognition
AndoverWest Elementary
Athol-RoyalstonRoyalston Community
AttleboroHyman Fine Elementary
BelmontDaniel Butler
Berkshire HillsMuddy Brook Regional Elementary
BillericaFrederick J. Dutile
BostonJoseph P. Manning
Winship Elementary
Bridgewater-RaynhamLaliberte Elementary
Community Day Charter Public - R. Kingman Webster (in Lawrence)
FranklinJ.F. Kennedy Memorial
Florence Roche
HinghamPlymouth River
South Elementary
HopkintonHopkinton High
LenoxLenox Memorial High
Lexington High
MedfieldMedfield Senior High
New BedfordJames B. Congdon
NewtonHorace Mann
North ReadingE. Ethel Little
L.D. Batchelder
NorwoodCharles J. Prescott
Pioneer Charter School of Science II (in Saugus)
PlymouthCold Spring
RocklandJefferson Elementary
ScituateCushing Elementary
SherbornPine Hill
ShrewsburySpring Street
ShutesburyShutesbury Elementary
SomervilleBenjamin G. Brown
SudburyJosiah Haynes
WalthamWilliam F. Stanley Elementary
WaylandLoker School
WellesleyKatharine Lee Bates
John D. Hardy
WesthamptonWesthampton Elementary
Martha Jones
WilliamsburgAnne T. Dunphy School
WinchesterVinson-Owen Elementary
Ambrose Elementary
Winchester High
WorcesterWawecus Road
Francis J. McGrath Elementary